image description

Lux Christi Award


Each year, Concordia University presents the Lux Christi (Light of Christ) Award to recognize outstanding Lutheran educators who have served the Lord and the LCMS with distinction. Concordia University's College of Education is pleased to promote education – particularly Lutheran education – in many ways. With this award, the College of Education annually honors an outstanding Lutheran School Teacher or Principal and an outstanding Director of Christian Education (DCE) who have contributed significantly to the Lutheran education ministry. Award recipients will receive a beautiful Lux Christi award and a $500 gift to be used for continuing education or applied toward ministry expenses.


Nominations are solicited from the Northwest, California-Nevada-Hawaii, and Montana Districts of the Lutheran Church – Missouri Synod. Nominations may come from pastors, principals, teachers, DCEs, or congregations using the nomination form found on this webpage. After reviewing all of the nominations, the Nominating Committee will make its final selection. Both the teacher or principal and the DCE selected for the award will be honored at a special worship service.

Selection Criteria

  1. At least 10 years of service as a Lutheran educator in the role of teacher, principal, or DCE. Nominees may be from Lutheran pre-schools, elementary schools, secondary schools, or member congregations.
  2. Significant contributions through service, leadership, publications, research, and day-to-day ministry.
  3. Competence in creative thought and action.
  4. An example of Christian life and activity.
  5. A distinguished record of educational experience.
  6. On or eligible to be on the Roster of the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod as a Commissioned Minister of Religion.

Nominate a Lutheran Principal, Teacher, or DCE

Past Recipients

Dolores Sharadin
Ken Holste
Harold Klemmer
1987 Gertrude Weichmann
1988 Susan Evans, Verna McCoy
1989 Gary Gable
1990 Norma Lutzinger, Lee Relance
1991 Ruth Urben
1992 Judy Norton, Werner VonBehren
1993 Bill Ludwig, Gene Starns
1994 Vernette Linnemann
1995 Celeste Symmank
1996 Dee Bolen, Suzanne Rasmussen
1997 Irene Gehring
1998 Daniel Schuldheisz
1999 Eunice Neihold
2000 Maureen Meier
2001 Lavaun Messer
2002 Anne Bopp
2003 Robert Christian
2004 Karen Wrye
2005 Norman Brauer
2006 Debbie Klumb
2007 Linda Kuhlmann, Bob Fossum, Bob Malzahn
2008 Jeff Kranich, Ross Besel
2009 John Heinitz
2010 David Kretzmann, Margaret Hinchey
2011 R. David Gaudi, Jr., Craig Neumiller
2012 James Oloff
2013 David Topp